Fearfully, Wonderfully

Psalm 139:14
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Your works are wonderful I know that full well.

************************

Fearfully, Wonderfully

My sista
There was a time in my life
When I hated
the nappiness of my hair
the darkness of my skin
the curvaceous ness of my body.
I wanted
To have silky hair
Be light skinned
Be tall and thin,
But God reminded me that
He designed me for a purpose
His awesome purpose.
So stop flipping through
The pages of those beauty magazines
Look at the likeness that is yourself
And announce
I am made
Fearfully!
I am made
Wonderfully!

My brotha
There was a time in my life
When I despised
the shyness of my persona
the meekness of my manner
the altruistic ness of me.
I wanted
To be audacious
Be out-going
Be self-fish,
But God showed me that
He created me for a purpose
His divine purpose.
So stop flipping through
The channels on the television screen
Look at the reflection that is youself
And proclaim
I am made
Fearfully!
I am made
Wonderfully!

God has uniquely crafted each
and
Everyone of us
According to His will
According to His perfect plan
So stop trying to be
like and
Sound like and
Act like and
Look like and
Dress like and
Walk like and
Talk like
Everyone else.

Be the salt in this
Tasteless world that God has called you to be
And
When doubt and
Fear and
Jealousy and
Envy and
Depression and
Hatred creep into the
inner self of you
Hold your head up high
And declare
With the kingdom authority
I am made
Fearfully!
I am made
Wonderfully!

* Crystal Awkward 2010

Posted on March 6, 2010, in Fearfully Made, Poetry, Womanhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

