Beware of Unwise Counsel

Key Verses:
Psalm 1:1 Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers.

John 14:16-17 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever — the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.

**********************

After I found out that my soon to be ex-husband was cheating on me, the first number I dialed was to my parents. {I call him my soon to be ex-husband because as soon as this year long separation is over, I will be running to the courthouse for a divorce. Countdown is now 8 months.} The next person I called was my soon to be ex-mother-in-law, who I will refer to as XMIL. When I first told her what happened she was in disbelief and thought I misunderstood some things. Since then XMIL has been coaxing me to get back together with her son. Even saying that Ace {my four year old son} has said he wants us back together. I rebuked that statement because Ace has not said this. XMIL was trying to make me feel guilty for leaving the unhealthy relationship I was in.

Lately I’ve been apprehensive about calling XMIL because it seems like every single time we talk on the phone she tells me how hard she’s been praying for her son and I to get back together. XMIL told me not to harden my heart against him. I had to rebuke that statement and told her that my heart is not hardened. {Please listen carefully about what people say to you and about you. Even though they may not realize it, they could be putting a curse on you. Remember that there is life and death in the power of the tongue (Proverbs 18:21). If you don’t have discernment, you may not realize the impact their words could make.}

Now I have told her over and over again that the two of us will not get back together, but she keeps on pressing the issue. She’ll say things like “you don’t know the future” or “just pray about it and ask God what to do.” She is correct in that I don’t know the future; however, I have told her about the prophetic dream about my life that God revealed to me. I have already told her that I have prayed and asked God what to do. I felt like a broken record a one point by asking God the same thing over and over again and He kept giving me the same response – there is no future with XH in it. I have told XMIL what God has told me, but she has not accepted this. It makes me wonder if she has ever truly listened to God, if she can discern God’s voice from the enemy’s.

If you are going through something and have a major life decision to make, please ask God to speak to you though the Holy Spirit, who is our Counselor. Yes it is okay to talk to and seek advice from people, but you have to use discernment with who you talk to. If what they say does not line up with the word of God and what God has been telling you, then you need to RUN AWAY from them.

Now based on some events that have occurred since my children and I left Lo Debar, had I listened to XMIL’s unwise counsel and stayed with XH, I would be depressed, stressed out, nervous, and angry with myself for not following God’s instructions. I would also be resentful towards XMIL for giving me the unwise counsel. Listen to God! Listen to God! Listen to God! And stay away from unwise counsel. Be Blessed!

Posted on February 24, 2010, in Seeds of Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

