The Whole Tithe

Give God the Glory! Last week God gave me the words for the following spoken word (performance poetry). I encourage you to be obedient to God’s commands, especially with paying your tithes and offerings. This poem is based on the Word of God. Here are the keys verses I used:

Malachi 3:8-10 “Will a man rob God? Yet you rob me. “But you ask, ‘How do we rob you?’ “In tithes and offerings. You are under a curse—the whole nation of you—because you are robbing me. Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it. (NIV)

Philippians 4:19 And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.(NKJV)

Deuteronomy 11:15 I will provide grass in the fields for your cattle, and you will eat and be satisfied. (NIV)

Deuteronomy 11:26-29 See, I am setting before you today a blessing and a curse- the blessing if you obey the commands of the LORD your God that I am giving you today; the curse if you disobey the commands of the LORD your God and turn from the way that I command you today by following other gods, which you have not known. (NIV)

****************************

The Whole Tithe: But God. But Nothing.

My child
Why do you rob Me?
Didn’t I say
into the storehouse
bring the whole tithe?

But, but God!
You don’t understand
If I pay my tithes,
I won’t have enough to pay my bills.

But?! But Nothing!
You’ve forgotten that I am the One
Who can supply all your needs
According to My riches in Glory
Just obey My word
And I will
Command the heavenly floodgates to open.

* * *

My child
Why do you steal from Me?
Didn’t I say
into the storehouse
bring the whole tithe?

But, but God.
You don’t understand
If I pay my tithes,
I won’t have enough to buy food.

But?! But Nothing!
You’ve forgotten that I am the One
Who can provide for you
And you will eat and be satisfied
Just obey My word
And I will
Permit blessings to rain heavily on you.

* * *

My child
Why do you embezzle My funds?
Didn’t I say
into the storehouse
bring the whole tithe?

But, but God.
You don’t understand
If I pay my tithes,
I won’t have enough to put gas in my car.

But?! But Nothing!
You’ve forgotten that I am the One
Who is faithful
Listen and trust Me
Just obey My word
And I will
Authorize overflow beyond your wildest imagination.

* * *

Just

Refocus the lens of your life

and

make Me the center of your joy.

Remember,

you reap what you sow

A blessing if

you follow My commands
or
A curse if
you disobey.

So into the storehouse
don’t bring
Some, a part of
A portion or half.
Bring
the whole tithe.

* Crystal Awkward 2010

Posted on February 21, 2010, in Money, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

