Just Rest

I’ve always been told that a mother’s work is never done. Even though this may be true, I have learned that in the busyness of life, children, work, school, etc., it’s extremely important to take time for yourself. There was a time in my life where I didn’t say no and tried to do everything. I had too much on my plate and before I knew it, I crashed and burned. Now that I’m in school part time, working full time and mother all the time, it has become difficult to pencil in “ME” time. I am reminded by a poem I wrote several years ago to take the time to just rest. This not only helps to re-energize my mind and body, but also helps me to be a better mother, friend, and employee. So in the busyness of your life, remember to take a few moments to just rest.

**************************

Just Rest

 
My child
If you just come to me I will give you rest
You need to rest

REST!
But God don’t You know how much I have to do?
I just need to
Finish these assignments
Attend this next meeting
Participate in that activity
I don’t have time to rest

My child
If you just come to me I will give you rest
You need to rest

REST!
But God don’t You know how much I have to do?
I just need to
Find a new job
Clean this house
Start on this load of clothes
I don’t have time to rest

My child
If you just come to me I will give you rest
Haven’t you seen the signs?
When you locked your keys in the car
When you left your paper at home
When you started crying over everything

My child
Please come to Me and I will give you rest
I will wrap you in my comforting arms
Blanket you with peace
And lay you beside the Baobab tree
So that you can have rest
Just rest

*Crystal Awkward 2007

Posted on February 8, 2010, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow,
    your poem is lovely, insightful!

Leave a Reply

