I need some sleep

Verse for the day:
Philippians 4:13 – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Lesson for the day:
God will not put more on you than you can bear.

Last week was extremely trying for me, emotionally, mentally and physically. Since I have physically moved from Lo Debar, my daily commute is now over 2 hours a day to and from work. That’s over ten hours of driving a week. This is now my “temporary” daily routine: wake up at 4a and get myself and children ready. Leave house by 5:30a. Arrive in Richmond by 6:30ish. Drop off children and go to work. Leave work at exactly 4p and get children. Leave for Hampton by 5p and back at home after 6p. Then dinner, get myself and children ready for bed. Prepare our things for the next day and in bed by 8p. So, I’ve been getting less than seven hours of sleep, which is not enough especially with a 4 year old, an infant and the loooonnnggg commute.  I was so tired by the end of the week that I saw bags starting to form under my eyes and I’m too young for those. I tried to take naps during my lunch break, but I couldn’t fall asleep. I was so tired and exhausted that I came to work and just cried. I wanted to call in and not go to work. I thought about quitting, but I’ve got babies and bills to pay. I was stressed out just thinking about the commute. Satan was doing a number on my mind last week and it was hard for me to concentrate.

I don’t know how I’m doing it this week, but I do know that God will not put more on me than I can bear. I tried soda with caffeine to keep me alert, but that wore off. When I felt like giving up and throwing in the towel, I prayed for God to give me strength and keep me alert during my commute. I had family and friends praying for me. I also encouraged myself. God kept my children and me in His hands last week and He has His angels protecting us from hurt, harm and danger during our daily travels.

Remember that as long as you are doing what God has called you to do and you follow His commands, He will not put more on you than you can bear. Stay in prayer and be encouraged.

Posted on November 4, 2009, in Faith, Motherhood, Peace Be Still Series and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

