Seeds of Life

This is the poem that started it all. I wrote this poem during my internship with the YWCA. I have counseled women who have experienced domestic and sexual violence. Even though their stories are different, they all have the same spirit of hopelessness, sadness, and shame. If you know someone who is experiencing domestic violence in their relationship, please encourage and support them.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Seeds of Life

My sista I know you are hurting
Been broken
Beaten
Held down for far too long
I’m just here to plant some seeds of life in you

My sista I can feel your pain
The abuse you have taken from your man
Boyfriend
Brotha even your father
I’m just trying to plant some seeds of life in you

My sista I can hear your sadness
You’ve lost yourself
Your spirit
Your joy
I have to plant some seeds of life in you

My sista I can see your anger
Locked inside of you
While you’re locked in jail
at home
I must plant some seeds of life in you

Even though our time is limited
and
I don’t know where your path will lead you
I just pray that you water these seeds of life with your tears
So that the life
The peace
The joy
That you once knew will spring forth again
Before it’s too late.

~Crystal Awkward 2007

Dedicated to victims and survivors of domestic violence

Posted on October 31, 2009, in Poetry, Seeds of Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

